Connect with us

Uncategorized

Meta Utopia- Crook Review

Published

on

A few days ago, we put out its review of Meta Utopia.

“Metaverse” MLM crypto Ponzi scheme that isn’t very interesting on its own.

As part of our research, we found a link between Nicholas Coppola and the man who started the Ponzi scheme.

Or rather, he did it through an Instagram story that has since been deleted:

Coppola wasn’t happy about being linked to Meta Utopia in public, it turns out. He only wants to hide the fact that he is a crypto-bro Ponzi scammer.

Today, Nicholas Coppola joins the DMCA Wall of Shame.

Over the past 24 hours, “Dincer Odabasi” from “Copyright Support” has sent us two emails. Nicholas Coppola’s emails were sent on his behalf.

Copyright Support says on its poorly made website that it will

Negative or damaging news that can be found on the Internet and in Google search results should be taken down for good.

In his first email, Odabasi tries to pull the old “right to be forgotten” scam.

“Dear Madam,

Because of the right to be forgotten and because of the privacy clause, we want the content to be blocked.

We tried to get in touch with the website that posted the content, but we didn’t hear back. So, we give you the content and ask you to turn it off.

As everyone knows, according to the first paragraph of Article 9 of Law No. 5651 on the Regulation of Broadcasts Made on the Internet and Combating Crimes Committed Through These Broadcasts, if they can’t get to it, they can send a warning to the hosting provider and ask that the content be taken down.

Again, the second paragraph of the same article says that “the content and/or hosting provider must respond to requests from people who say their personal rights have been violated by the content of an online broadcast within twenty-four hours at the latest.”

We want the case that was filed on our behalf to be taken care of. Because of the European right to be forgotten and the privacy of private life, we have the right to limit access to content.

Please note that we’re asking you to take down the content because we’ve tried to reach the owner but haven’t heard back. That’s why we want and need you to take it down.”

This is a form letter that con artists send out. I know that because Odabasi put the same notice to Amazon from another email about a different website and client (ruhroh GDPR fail) into the body of the email he sent me.

In any case, the “Right to be Forgotten” law in Europe is used by scammers to hide their pasts, no matter how good the lawmakers’ intentions may have been at first.

The Right to be Forgotten is not part of EU law, so we don’t recognise it. Also, it takes four days from the date of publication until a right-to-be-forgotten takedown notice is sent.

Odabasi went on to say that Turkish law had something to do with the US, which was not true.

Due to the Right to be Forgotten and the USA Legal Content Removal Request Pursuant to Law No. 5651, we can’t take down the content we told you about because it’s in the Constitution.

“The Right to be Forgotten and the USA Legal Content Removal Request” is not a thing, even if that sentence makes no sense. It’s not true at all.

Turkey passed Law No. 5651 in the year 2020. It only happens in Turkey and has nothing to do with the United States.

Odabasi sent another email a few hours after the first one. This time, he threatened to take action because of copyright issues.

“We want you to remove any content that reveals personal information about our representative.

If you don’t get rid of the news content, we will file a copyright claim with your hosting company, Google.

I’d like you to put the story away, please.

Regards, 
TEAM OF SUPPORT FOR COPYRIGHT”

As our Policy says, we often use “third-party logos and images,” which is allowed by US copyright law through “fair use.”

We don’t need permission from the people who own the rights to the images we use in our MLM news and reviews. Period. 

The DMCA takedown process is being abused when fair use isn’t taken into account and a fake DMCA is filed. Not only will it not work, but the person who submitted it is lying.

Even though it’s clear that Copyright Support doesn’t care about the law, it’s still important to point out their hypocrisy.

Scam businesses like Copyright Support depend on the fact that the publisher or service provider they are after doesn’t know what they are doing.

Nicholas Coppola has publicly linked himself to Meta Utopia and is involved enough to be close to the Ponzi scheme’s founder, who has not yet been named.

It is not against any US law to publish this information with proof attached.

Update, July 2, 2022: Dincer Odabasi is now committing twice as much DMCA fraud as he was before.

Odabasi sent Google a “court order” on June 28 that says the same thing: “It’s against the law to search for scammers!” Stupid, but it also says this:

Based on the privacy clause of private life and the court document we will send you, we want the content to be taken down from publication and blocked from access.”

Odabasi is saying that a Turkish law is a “court document” that keeps scammers from telling the rest of the world. Oh dear.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Uncategorized

Awakend & Zenith – Crook Review Part 3

Published

on

By

Mickey Burns, a BehindMLM reader, contacted me earlier today to let me know.

This blog’s content is fantastic, and it has really aided me throughout the years.

She also criticized our coverage of Awakend’s prelaunch, notably their leptin supplement Zenith.

Oz, the white paper is available on the internet. Even a cursory Google search will reveal how the hormone Leptin functions.

This encouraged me to visit Awakend’s new website (which didn’t exist at the time I covered the company’s prelaunch) and download a copy of their “whitepaper” (tell me you’re a crypto bro without telling me you’re a crypto bro).

Oh, no.

You’ll see in the opening paragraph of the whitepaper report that it’s a 2008 study released in 2009. In other words, the research was carried out fourteen years before Zenith existed.

The next thing you’ll notice is that “Zenith” has been edited in, thus doctoring the published paper.

This renders it ineffective.

What was the original study’s purpose, as published? Is Zenith based on the same formula? Are the researchers okay with having their study doctored?

I’m not well-versed in academic process, but I can’t image doctoring published articles going over well. I know I’d be upset if someone took a published research with my name on it and changed it.

Awakend should publish the original study and include an update showing Zenith employs the exact same formula as examined in 2008.

Looking at the document’s attributes, we can see that it was last modified on August 12th, 2022 by Ashlee Headlee.

Ashlee Headlee James manages Awakend’s exclusive business Facebook community. Her precise function inside the organization has not been revealed.

Awakend’s website has no information about the company’s ownership or executives. Compensation paperwork is also missing, as recruiting is presently the company’s only priority.

The full Awakend evaluation of BehindMLM is pending the introduction of the company’s pay plan.

Awakend has updated the doctored study with a blanked out version of the original as of August 27th, 2022.

The following remark appears to have been added to the supplied 2008 research in reaction to this article;

The 2008 research referred to Trisynex, as stated in the comments below.

Roger Catarino sells Trisynex through First Fruits Business Ministry LLC.

The claim by Awakend to have “exclusive worldwide rights” is dubious because Trisynex-containing products exist and have been accessible for some time.

At the time of this update, Awakend had not addressed the availability of Trisynex in competitor products.

1st September 2022 – Update Because of the uncertainty surrounding Awakend’s assertions that Zenith is an exclusively licensed recipe, formulator Vietal Nutrition issued a statement.

Unfortunately, this has simply generated additional suspicions about Zenith’s exclusivity.

9th September 2022 – Update First Fruits Business Ministry has issued a stop and desist letter to Awakend about its Zenith marketing claims.

TriPharma (dba Vietal Nutrition) has achieved the appointment of a Receiver as of September 14, 2022.

FFBM will be placed under the control of the Receiver. The funds generated will be used to pay TriPharma’s 2013 judgment against FFBM.

Awakend has also deleted the previously supplied Trisynex research from its website, unless I’m mistaken.

Continue Reading

Uncategorized

SEC & Forsage – Crook Review

Published

on

By

The SEC has moved to provide alternate service to three of Forsage’s four founders.

Vladimir “Lado” Okhotnikov, Lola Ferrari, and Sergey Maslakov all live in other countries.

Okhotnikov, Vladimir “Lado”
According to the SEC;

Okhotnikov is a Russian citizen who is thought to be living in Tbilisi, Republic of Georgia. He is the operation’s public face, hosting many of its YouTube videos and participating in interviews with key promoters.

Okhotnikov engages with Forsage investors and promoters on a daily basis via Forsage and, more recently, Meta Force social media, YouTube, and Telegram.

Okhotnikov also has personal social media profiles via which he communicates, including Instagram, Facebook, VK, Telegram, and Twitter. He also has his own personal website.

Okhotnikov has stated on his Instagram profile that he is “constantly traveling,” and he appears to have visited Indonesia, Dubai, and Peru in the last two years.

During the inquiry, the Commission received a copy of Okhotnikov’s passport, which indicated him to be a Russian citizen but had no residence.

Despite attempts by Commission employees, the Commission is unsure of Okhotnikov’s present address.

He did, however, imply that he was in Georgia in both his August 19 and August 22 Instagram postings, and he reposted those same images on Facebook.

Similarly, he indicated that he was in Georgia in an interview he conducted on August 8, 2022, following the filing of the Commission’s Complaint in this situation.

Maslakov, Sergey
According to the SEC;

Maslakov is said to live in either Gelendzhik or Moscow, Russia. He has mostly appeared in Forsage Russian-language commercial films.

Foris DAX, the parent company of crypto exchange Crypto.com, provided the SEC with Maslakov’s email address and “last known whereabouts.”

Maslakov’s email address is smas*@yandex.ru, according to the account information obtained by Crypto.com.

The records also show that Maslakov visited his account from an IP address in Moscow, Russia, during 2021.

Maslakov’s present physical address and whether he is still in Russia are unknown to the Commission.

Furthermore, despite Internet searches, subpoenas, and voluntary inquiries to third parties, the Commission was unable to locate his actual address.

We suspect he is in Russia since he cites Russia as his location on his Facebook and VK profiles, and he accessed his Crypto.com account from a Russian IP address.

Ferrari, Lola
According to the SEC;

Ferrari, whose true identity is unknown but who goes by the name “Lola Ferrari,” is said to be a Russian national living in Bali, Indonesia.

She refers to herself as Forsage’s “goddess” and has starred in several of its advertising films.

The Commission’s officials established that Ferrari’s principal social media account is her Instagram profile during the inquiry.

Ferrari advertises Forsage on this website. She has also uploaded photos and videos that indicate she is in Bali, Indonesia.

Despite several efforts, the Commission has no knowledge of Ferrari’s present address or if she is still in Indonesia.

Service Alternative
With Maslakov in Russia and Lola Ferrari in Indonesia, Hague Convention service is no longer available.

Although Georgia is a signatory, because the SEC does not know Okhotnikov’s address, service under the Hague Convention is also ruled out.

As an alternative, the SEC is offering Maslakov service via email. Service on Okhotnikov and Ferrari will be carried out through social media.

The Commission intends to serve Okhotnikov and Ferrari by direct messages to their Instagram accounts, as well as Okhotnikov via direct messages to his Facebook and Twitter accounts.

Okhotnikov is still active on Facebook, where he posts about his life in Georgia:

Okhotnikov was last seen in Borjomi, a vacation town in central Georgia, according to a Facebook post from August 25th.

He’s also active on Meta Force’s YouTube channel, where he posts bizarre conspiracy theories and justifications for why investor cash and withdrawals are still frozen.

Lola Ferrari has made her Instagram account private since being accused by the SEC.

In support of their request, the SEC claims Okhotnikov is “indisputably” aware of the complaint.

Okhotnikov reacted directly to the claims in the Complaint via a video message aired online after the Commission filed action.

Following that, he gave an eighteen-minute interview on his Meta Force YouTube channel in which he denied the charges in the Commission’s complaint.

Authorizing service on a defendant via social media is especially acceptable when the defendant is clearly aware of the situation.
the case against him

Okhotnikov is already aware of the litigation against him, making such alternative service much more necessary.

Ferrari’s decision to make her Instagram page private implies she is aware of the litigation.

On September 2nd, the court granted the SEC’s motion for alternate service. The SEC verified service against Maslakov through email later that day.

Mikail Sergeev is Forsage’s fourth co-founder. Sergeev, according to the SEC, also resides in Moscow, Russia.

I’m not clear why Sergeev was omitted from the SEC’s motion, but I presume it was due to an inability to validate his personal information (email etc.).

The SEC has confirmed alternate service on Lola Ferrari and Lado Okhotnikov on September 9th and 13th, respectively.

Both defendants have till September 26th to respond.

Okhotnikov hasn’t posted anything on social media since August 27th. Since September 1st, there have been no MetaForce updates.

Continue Reading

Uncategorized

Dot Dot Smile – Crook Review Part 2

Published

on

By

Dot Dot Smile has declared bankruptcy, two and a half months after discontinuing its MLM opportunity and going wholesale.

On September 3rd, Dot Dot Smile filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy in California.

According to the statement, Dot Dot Smile has $4.4 million in assets and $5.6 million in debt.

The following companies are Dot Dot Smile’s major creditors:

Gary Thompson – $200,000 (apparently a family loan)
CloudFund LLC (debt management firm) – $325,000
Mirror Fashion Company $1.5 million in Hong Kong
$600,000 for Nano (no details supplied).
Network Ventures LLC (contract violation) – $353,846
Nothing MLM-related shows on Dot Dot Smile’s file, at least not outside of the corporate side of things.

According to a BerhindMLM reader, as of July 31st, 2022,

Since May, no one has been paid. Thousands of dollars are owing to certain persons. They fired everyone on their team.

The cynic in me finds it difficult to perceive Dot Dot Smile’s bankruptcy as anything other than premeditated.

Nicole and Jeff Thompson (right) of the company presumably knew bankruptcy was imminent and reasoned that they needed to sell the MLM firm before filing.

Without the MLM possibility, there was definitely no intention of ever continuing Dot Dot Smile.

I might be wrong, but Dot Dot Smile suddenly being $5.6 million in debt in three months does not seem realistic.

I’m not sure how any of this works legally. Even if everything is legal, it reflects poorly on the Thompsons in terms of openness and Dot Dot Smile’s distributors.

Dot Dot Smile’s State of Financial Affairs report is expected on September 19th. A creditors’ meeting has been arranged for October 12th.

Nicole Thompson, the daughter of co-founders DeAnne and Mark Stidham, is connected to Dot Dot Smile.

It is unknown whether Dot Dot Smile’s bankruptcy filing has had or will have any influence on LuLaRoe’s business operations.

Continue Reading

Trending

Copyright © 2022 CrooksDirectory.